Our Team

We are driven by a passionate Board of Directors and dedicated projects team, representing all regions of Michigan and many breastfeeding stakeholder groups. In almost 10 years as an organization, we have made remarkable progress in our vision to ensure that state and local communities recognize breastfeeding and human milk as the norm for infant and young child feeding. With continued support, MIBFN can pursue its goal that all families live, work and receive support in a breastfeeding-friendly culture.

Board of Directors

Julie Lothamer, MS, RD, IBCLC
Co-Chair, MIBFN

Consultation and Nutrition Services Unit Manager, MIDHHS WIC

Paula K Schreck, MD, IBCLC, FABM
Co-Chair, MIBFN

Breastfeeding Coordinator, Ascension, St. John Providence

Medical Director, Mother Nurture Lactation College

Chief of Clinical Strategy, Coffective

Lisa King
Secretary, MIBFN

Owner, Lisa King Consulting, LLC

W Vivien McCurdy, RD, MPA
Treasurer, MIBFN

Director of Food Safety and Nutrition, Kalamazoo Valley Community College

Zaje Harrell, PhD
Principal, Conscious Endeavor, LLC

Nancy Heyns, BSN, MS, IBCLC, LCCE 
Lactation Consultant, MIDHHS/WIC

Karen Koss, MPH, IBCLC
Founding Member, Michigan Breastfeeding Network & Michigan Association of Lactation Consultants

Previous Regional Representative, United State Breastfeeding Committee

Jean Lakin, MHSA
Director, Performance Improvement for Michigan Medicine, University of Michigan

Our Team

Shannon McKenney Shubert, MPH
Executive Director
shannon@mibreastfeeding.org

Jennifer Day, IBCLC
Project Manager
jennifer@mibreastfeeding.org

Kaitlyn Moorhead-Hill, RD
Project Manager
kaitlyn@mibreastfeeding.org

Millie Pruchnic
Communications Specialist
millie@mibreastfeeding.org

Allison Buchman
Social Media Specialist
allison@mibreastfeeding.org

Vicki Wood
Content Writer
vicki@mibreastfeeding.org

Gi’Anna Cheairs
Implementation Specialist
gianna@mibreastfeeding.org

Jamie Platt, RN
Continuing Education Consultant
jamie@mibreastfeeding.org

Caty Jolley
Implementation Specialist
caty@mibreastfeeding.org

Contact Us

(734) 365-6559

info@mibreastfeeding.org

503 Mall Court #296

Lansing, MI 48912

Sign-Up for Email Alerts
Photography

Many of the beautiful images on our website are provided by the following: Oakland and Wayne County Breastfeeding Coalitions, Katherine Jarvi Photography, and Allie and Co. Photography. Thanks to our partners for their wonderful photos! To submit your images for our website, please contact info@breastfeeding.org.